Q5: In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that improving current public transport systems should take precedence over building new railway lines, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that the government should invest in the construction of new railway lines for fast trains do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that establishing new railway lines can facilitate the nationwide transport of goods and passengers. To be more specific, not only can people with relatives in different parts of the country see one another, but parcels are also delivered more quickly. In addition, there might be a boom in domestic tourism, stimulating economic growth in regional areas.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on ameliorating existing public transport systems than constructing new railway lines for bullet trains. Perahps the most compelling reason is that current public transport systems play a more significant role in citizens' daily lives given that a myriad of employees and students make use of existing public transport on a daily basis in order to commute to and from work or school. Therefore, enhancing current public transport enables the masses to have an improved standard of living. Furthermore, the introduction of bullet trains places a heavy tax burden on the government since an astronomical sum of money is required to set up facilities related to bullet trains. To exemplify, one recent study conducted by the government of China has demonstrated that the amount of money spent on the advent of bullet trains is anticipated three times higher than that of money dedicated to renovating current transport systems. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the updating of current public transport systems should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.