Q3 Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the issue of studying a foreign language has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that working and travelling abroad are not the sole reasons for learning a second language, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people acquire a foreign language so as to take overseas trips and job postings do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that being fleunt in a foreign language can facilitate various aspects of trips from buying groceries to organising cultural activities. In addition, people who are proficient in a second language are more likely to find well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities in a job market with greater ease given that the majority of international corporations have a tendency to hire multilingual job seekers. This is because global companies often dispatch their employees to a foreign nation where they have branches.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short sighted to contend that working and travelling oversea are the only motivations for having a tight grasp of a language other than one's mother tongue. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that being good at in a second language makes it possible for people to have access to a myriad of beneficial information. As a brief illustration, scientists are capable of gaining a huge amount of useful knowledge related to the field where they conduct research by consulting books or articles written in a common language, such as English. Furthermore, individuals can broaden their perspectives as they can easily mingle with speakers of different languages, which can even lead them to have a deeper understanding of cultural diversity. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that there are other reasons why people are willing to learn a foreign language for the reasons discussed above.