Q5: In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that improving current public transport should take precedence over constructing faster railway lines, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that the construction of a new railway system should be a priority do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the advent of new train lines for bullet trains can facilitate the cross-country transport of goods and passengers. To be more specific, not only can people see their relatives living other parts of the country with greater ease, but parcels are also able to be delivered more quickly. In addition, there might be a boom in domestic tourism, stimulating economic growth in regional areas.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on ameliorating existing public transport rather than establishing new railway lines. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that current public transport systems have a predisposition to play a more significant role in individuals' daily life given that a large number of citizens make use of existing public transport on a regular basis in order to commute to and from work or school. Thus, enhancing current transport systems makes it possible for the public to have an improved standard of living. Furthermore, setting up facilities related to new railway lines for bullet trains place a heavy financial burden on the government. To exemplify, a recent study conducted by the government of China has demonstrated that the amount of tax money spent on constructing new bullet train lines is anticipated three times higher than on renovating current transport systems. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that updating current public transport should take priority over the introduction of fast railway lines for the reasons discussed above.