Q16 In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the issue of the age gap between parents and children has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to giving birth to babies at an early age, these are exceeded by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that having children as early in life as possible exerts a positive influence on families do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that young individuals raising their offspring are more likely to participate in a wide range of leisure activities, such as football and online games, with their children with greater ease, enabling them to build strong relationships with one another. In addition, younger parents are easily able to empathise with their children considering that not only can they frequently communicate with their children, but they are also more open-minded in general than older parents who are more strict due to the larger generation gap.

My opinion, however, is that the drawbacks of taking responsibility for becoming parents at a young age are more significant. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that a multitude of younger parents often have difficulty providing their children with opportunities to receive better education that costs a fortune given that a myriad of younger parents are struggling to support their own living costs. This is mainly because they have not saved a huge amount of money since they have not worked for a long time. Furthermore, the development of youngsters' personalities can be negatively affected by younger parents as the majority of young people looking after their children are incapable of setting a good example to their offspring due to a lack of life experience, which can even lead their children to become immature or selfish. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of the narrow age gap surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.