Q7. Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of average working hours on the economy has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that having longer working hours enables countries to invigorate economic growth, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that nations where citizens devote a huge amount of time to work can stimulate economic progress. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that there are some nations experiencing economic success that were developed countries in the past thanks to long working hours. As an illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, the economy of South Korea has flourished given that the figure for the gross domestic product of South Korea has skyrocket more than 20 times for the last four decades. In fact, it turns out that the main reason for this phenomenon is its longest working time amongst OECD countries.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that having longer working hours is the sole way to facilitate economic progress. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that although a multitude of developed nations, such as Australia and New Zealand, have never forced citizens to spend a vast quantity of time on work, they are still wealthy. This is because they earn an astronomical amount of money by selling raw materials, including crude oil and gas, in the global market. Thus, they have never had the urgent need for longer working hours, unlike some emerging nations suffering from a lack of invaluable energy sources. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.