Question: An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

With the advancement in telecommunications and e-commerce companies are now having the advantage of selling most of their product online. This has consequently led to many people shopping online. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits in online shopping.

With the technological advancement in the field of telecom and the e-commerce, many companies have found numerous benefits in displaying product online. Firstly, there is a reduction in overhead expenditure which had to be incurred when product or goods were stored in warehouse. Secondly it is an easy way an effective way to displaying the products to the consumer.

On the other hand, shopping online has its own merits. Firstly, online sites have feature where price, specification and delivery period can be compared, prior to making a decision on buying the product. For example, people deciding to purchase mobile and are confused which one to purchase, then by comparing features like camera, resolution and price one can make a decision. Secondly, online site provides various payment options like cash on delivery, credit card or through net banking. For instance, one can choose the type of payment one is comfortable with. Lastly, online shopping provides loyalty points which can be redeem in their next purchase. This feature is beneficial for both the customer as well as the company.

On the flip side, the major disadvantage of online shopping online are firstly, product delivered do not match with online product. There have been many instances where people purchasing shoes online, always complaint that the color if the shoes delivered does not match with the online model. Secondly, there is always a danger of banking details getting hacked by online hackers. There has been many cases where number of people bank information has been leaked and been misused.

To recapitulate, despite of the disadvantages, people still prefer shopping online because the advantage of online shopping outweigh the disadvantages. Online sites are working together with banks to install firewall, which will provide safe transaction and to prevent hacker from stealing sensitive information.