In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes which have occurred? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

The contemporary society has inevitably undergone a nonstop revolution, which has a profound impact on family structure and roles of family members. From my perspective, there are several noticeable changes occurring to the two elements, bringing about positivity in human lives.

The aforementioned alteration can be attributed to two primary aspects. First and foremost, that men are the only family breadwinners has become an obsolete conception. Compared to the past when the conventional upbringing of our ancestors forced females to stay at home and do household chores, modern women are allowed to embark on their career paths and earn money for families. Even in several European families, while wives participate in the workforce, their partners spend most of their time taking childcare responsibilities. Secondly, there has been a dramatic decline in traditional family structure. Instead of extended ones, numerous couples recently tend to live separately from their parents and build up nuclear families after marriages. Besides, single-parent families are also socially acceptable as people are becoming more receptive to changes and differences.

These changes undoubtedly make a great contribution to the development of the whole society. One worth-noting point is that they foster the independence of children. These days, parents are almost fully-occupied with heavy workloads on a frequent basis. When living in nuclear families without the help of grandparents, the offspring have to establish self-reliant lifestyles at early ages. For example, many Vietnamese children often learn how to ride bikes at the age of 5 to travel to schools on their own. Additionally, the alteration in family roles can boost mutual understanding in couples’ relationships. Changing the role for partners raises husbands' sympathy and awareness of the hardships women have to encounter while nurturing children and taking care of home, and vice versa.

In short, several significant changes are happening to family roles and structure. It seems that these changes play a positive and indispensable role in ameliorating the quality of life on a large scale.