In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

As electronic gadgets are becoming increasingly popular among the millennials, people are opting for electronic books rather than traditional printed books. This essay will first discuss some demerits associated with this trend and will then argue why the pros overshadow the cons.

To begin with the negatives, using electronic book readers for longer durations may weaken the eyesight of users'. This is because these devices emit harmful radiations, also known as blue light radiation, which can cause short-sightedness among its users. In addition, the people who are employed in the printing presses might lose their jobs as digital libraries may replace printed books in the future. For instance, in many developed countries such as Canada, America and Australia printing presses are struggling to make ends meet as the demand for printed material has decreased significantly.

However, these cons pale in comparison to the pros that electronic books bring. Firstly, digital information does not require any physical location in order to be stored and recorded. To exemplify, an amazon kindle, a seven-inch device, can store thousands of books and still can be carried anywhere without any hassle. Secondly, the manufacturing of printed journals or novels requires papers which obviously lead to deforestation whereas electronic books are eco-friendly. Finally, one can access electronic information at the touch of a button; on the other hand, books can only be obtained either by visiting a library or by shopping from a book shop.

To conclude, even though digital books may affect the printing industry, the ability to readily access information at the touch of a button and being an environment-friendly, indeed, outweigh all the drawbacks.