In recent years, tourists have paid attention to preserving both the culture and environment of the places they visit. However, some people think that it is impossible to be a responsible tourist. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, the response of cultural and environmental preservation has been a controversial issue between tourists and indigenous communities. In my perspective, I totally agree that travelers should take this response and its reason stemming from the awareness.

On the one hand, there are several reasons that local people should pay attention to that issue. Firstly, the distinct customs and natural landscapes bring a huge profit to them. Those who visit stunning locations and undergo traditional culture trigger the growth of tourism industry and services that are beneficial for governments and individuals in terms of financial resources. Thus, they can afford to preserve traditional customs and innovate waste treatment system. For instance, in Hue, the royal cuisine and ancient citadel are tangible evidence for the existence of feudalism so thanks to financial assistance from government’s efforts, they are well-preserved enough to attract the travelers and give them an opportunity to learn the past regime. Thus, government and indigenous people play a crucial role in the rehabilitation of traditional customs and landscapes.

On the other hand, travelers should respond to the preservation of culture and environment of destinations. Firstly, their lack of awareness can cause degradation. It is some improper behaviors such as litter which can poison the ground and destroy the tree shading and eco-system in ambient landscapes. Besides, terrestrial animals might consume those toxin wastes, leading to severe disorders and even death; thereby devastating indigenous animals. For instance, Japan government have to ban tourist on carrying foods and drinks to several temples due to the risk to the holy deer living in those places. Furthermore, the growth of the flux of tourists can trigger the culture assimilation due to the flourished import of cultures which appeal to the youngsters, reducing the number of them learning about their local customs and reducing its diversity. Thus, the response of preservation should lie with travelers.

In conclusion, visitors should concern more about the preservation of culture and environment of the place they visit, and the companion between them and indigenous communities can mitigate its degradation.