Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Studies have indicated that broadband connection is applied to many kinds of gathering in business. While its drawbacks are discernible, I opine that this tendency offered more benefits.

On the one hand, there are two important minuses when business assemblies are supported by the Internet. From training perspective, most actual circumstances occur as a result of real interaction, whereas online classes can offer individual curricula so that face-to-face communication becomes redundant. Therefore, such pedagogical approach may contribute to a lack of hands-on experience among learners, constraining them to put knowledge gained into practice. Additionally, from health perspective, since a number of activities are carried out online, a long exposure to computer, staying parallel with an accidentally adopted sedentary lifestyle, is inevitable. Consequently, if no accompanying physical activities are provided, residents may be prone to a variety of health concern, like refractive errors or obesity.

On the other hand, I consent with the implication of the trend towards conducting business through broadband connection for social betterment because of its advantages. Firstly, it is recognized that the Internet has facilitated partnership and management. Indeed, thanks to leading-edge technologies like video conferencing, entrepreneurs have been enabled to reach a consensus with partners, or keep abreast of their companies despite long distances. Secondly, no sooner are these technological advancements applied than business becomes more financially effective. Specifically, online business gatherings, in which infrastructure and commuting are unnecessary, are believed to significantly reduce overhead cost and, therefore, uplift the benefit for enterprises.

Briefly, while meeting, discussions and training taking place online may exert negative impacts, it seems to me that they will be outweighed by the advantages.