Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

These days, there is an increasing among offenders to reoffend after serving their sentences. In my opinion, this issue can be attributed to two main reasons and several potential solutions should be adopted to eradicate it.

There are two primary reason why criminals commit illegalities again after being released from the prison. First, prisons are the institution whose purpose is to punish wrongdoers, while there is a public outcry against being soft on crimes. In many societies, citizens argue that only the full weight of law could act as a deterrent to prevent crimes, although it did not work well. Therefore, few resources are allocated to cells, making these places crowded, low-quality and violent and to prison programs for ex-offenders to make a fresh start to society. Also, many hardened offenders often intimidate other inmates and build networks to plan future crimes. A typical example would be the criminal gang in Brazil, who committed more heinous offences after their prison sentences.

Fortunately, authorities and politicians could take many actions to prevent further crimes of ex-offenders. In particular, more integrating programs should be implemented for criminals after they have been released. Vocational training or academic study opportunities should be given for them as the chances of rehabilitation and getting jobs. A stable life with adequate income and the feeling of being cared by governments could dispel any idea of committing crimes again. Moreover, dangerous convicts should be segregated to prevent bullying or intimidation, which make ex-offenders even expert criminals, later.

In conclusion, I agree that there are two chief causes behind this case, and it is important to take possible measures mentioned to tackle this issue in order to ensure the safety of socie