The restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money on building new houses and roads.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, opposing ideas have been put forward regarding whether to invest government funds in preserving age-old constructions or not. This essay aims to discover both given standpoints and sheds light on why I firmly advocate the idea of restoring ancient buildings, as long as moderation is in place.

On the one hand, proponents of conserving old buildings often emphasize the historical and cultural values that those constructions indicate. Architectures with ancient style capture an aspect of history as it represents the cultural traits of their country at the time. Therefore, people might stick to the idea that spending money on refurbishing antique structures is a superior way to display their appreciation for the national heritage. Furthermore, it is also contended that when these historical structures are well-restored, they can partly encourage the thriving of the national economy. This is because as soon as the quality of those traditional buildings is secured and continually upgraded, they would stand out to be symbolic and appeal to a host of tourists.

On the other hand, opponents of this approach argue that people can reap many potential benefits if the government allocates their expenditure to constructing more houses and enhancing the road system quality. Recently, with populations booming at a considerable rate, it is irrefutable that numerous metropolises require more and more houses to cater the human demand. Also, due to this population growth, traffic congestion or even the deterioration of road systems is gaining traction. Consequently, advocates of erecting more residences and traffic systems expect the government to spend money solving those problems in place of refurbishing old buildings.

Nevertheless, this is my view that as long as the spending is put into a specific limitation, restoring ancient structures is generally beneficial, given the cultural and educational significance. For example, many activities related to historical education are usually organized in those traditional places, resulting in a much better result.

In conclusion, I believe that both arguments have their own merits. On balance, however, I am utterly convinced that within a particular expenditure, these old buildings are still worth being renovated frequently.