The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people argue that the increase in the amount of fast food and premade meals has assisted people to stay in line with the speed of life. The major advantage of this is that such food indeed provides people with the opportunity to save time, while the main disadvantage, namely, the global health deterioration, can be significantly alleviated. I agree that the negative effects are not essential.

As people work more, less time is allocated for everyday chores like food preparation. Luckily, fast food was invented a few decades ago and since then has been supporting people in their work life in a form of ready meals or fast food restaurants. Since there is more free time, people might use it for either work more or spend leisure with their families. In the latter case, the happiness of the population increase, while in the former, salaries grow, which leads to the well-being of the whole country. For instance, one social survey showed that people who do not spend time cooking, have larger salaries because they save a few hours a day by eating junk food, thus they work more.

However, there is a major negative effect - the health of people who eat out every day may degrade over time. This is related to different adversarial components of junk food, which is inevitable consequence of convenience. For example, the statistics of the ministry of health and medical care in Russia has recently reported about evidence that people who eat fast food every day might be succumb to overweight. However, proper physical activity and constant medical watch might lessen this problem.

In conclusion, the growth in junk food consumption aids workers in their job or pastime, while the major drawback (health deterioration) might be alleviated by suitable routines.