The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is true that there is a surge in the consumption of convenience foods in order to keep up with the fast pace of life. It is a topic of moot, as some believe there is upside to this, while others focus on the adversities it brings in. This essay aims to discuss at both of these perspectives.

To commence with, a key benefit of having the foods off the shelf is that it is ready made food, which saves a lot of time for the people who have a busy schedule. For instance, it is the most convenient option for the university students who find it difficult to take time for cooking when in between their work and studies. Additionally, it is available everywhere and hence accessibility is an added advantage. People prefer such foods because it is a cheaper option, due to which it is affordable by even the poorest.

Despite the positive arguments, there seems to be a downside to it. Firstly, these foods are not complete because they lack the necessary nutrients and vitamins. Long term intake, on regular basis of this kind of diet can lead to detrimental effects on mind and body. For example, in a recent study conducted on people who regularly take food off the shelf, they have seen that only after a few hours of the meal they feel hungry and crave for something which distracts them from their work. This is an alarming sign of unhealthy diet. Health experts suggest it is always better the consume fresh cut vegetables, fruits and avoid having pre-cooked meals. Convenience store foods works exactly the opposite of these recommendations.

In conclusion, although the store foods fit perfectly in the modern lifestyle of people have a hectic timetable, but there are major drawbacks. Hence, the demerits of this practise clearly outweigh the benefits.