A rise in the standard of living in a country seems to only benefits cities rather than rural areas. What problems might this difference cause? How might the problems be reduced?

Recently, concentration of industry and economics in urban areas afford them better opportunities to enhance the quality of life for citizens living in cities rather than in countryside. This gap would inevitably pose several negativities that the society need to tackle.

First, people will unconsciously tend to relocate to a better place in terms of potential job prospect, modern education and bureaucracy systems for their career and family, population imbalance or abnormal concentration may occur as the result. Several studies have unfolded the fact that those living in urban areas appear to have more mental and physical illnesses than others. This would profoundly change the living standard negatively, from high level today to extremely low one down the road. For instance, citizens living in Ho Chi Minh City and Shanghai are reported to frequently suffer from different types of stress due to high level noises from moving vehicles, civil construction and the vast number of people speaking in one place. In addition, spending most of their time in the daily urban traffic congestions might be a precursor of future backbone malfunction and respiratory deceases due to lack of moving their position and breathing fresh air every day.

Government, thereby should propose appropriate strategies to get over that harmful obstacle, and achieve national sustainable development. To illustrate, countryside with their nature landscapes could attract both domestic and international tourist, which are normally considered as the main source of foreign currency. This non-smocked industry would be increasingly fortified if the nation could provide proper planning such as enhancing local living standard and transport system between urban and rural areas. Such improvement would catalyze numerous avenues for government to spread out the population.

In conclusion, living in cities could possibly lead to the reverse of living standard and government therefore should play as a key factor to foreseen this foreseen impact.