Many young people who leave school hold a negative attitude towards learning. Why does this happen? What are the solutions?

An increasing number of school leavers are currently having a negative attitude towards studying. This problem is caused by some factors, and it should be tackled by some effective solutions.

There are some reasons why young people who leave school dislike learning. Firstly, the school curriculum is usually too demanding. Apart from attending lectures, students are also required to complete a large number of assignments and group projects, so they might feel stressed and exhausted after studying intensely. Gradually, they are against learning. Secondly, students often have to learn many unnecessary subjects that do not provide any benefits for their future. For example, when studying History, learners must memorise events in the past although they cannot apply this sort of knowledge into earning money later on. As a result, high school education might be considered a waste of time.

Fortunately, some measures could be taken to prevent this problem. The first solution would be to make lessons more interesting. For instance, visual aids such as video clips should be added in order to attract learners’ attention. Therefore, studying would become a hobby rather than an obligation, and students would have greater motivation to learn. Secondly, lessons that are not necessary should be cut down, and schools should only provide knowledge that students can apply in their future career. When the number of non-essential subjects is reduced and the school syllabus becomes more practical, learners would really see the benefits of education.

In conclusion, school leavers tend to have a negative attitude towards learning because of some reasons, and solutions should be produced soon to tackle this issue.