The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic congestion and air pollution are the consequences of massive volumes of private vehicles in megacities or urban areas. I completely agree with this statement and governments should invest more in public transportation in lieu of private cars to alleviate arising issues.

First and foremost, concentrating on the public transport system could ease volumes of traffic congestion, especially during rush hours. As a result, it is a great alternative for people because more space on road helps people easily commute to work or study by bus or train. Consequently, public transport like buses and metros can address the gridlocks because a large number of urban inhabitants could travel a long distance at the same time. For instance, in Japan, most of them use buses and trains, which are the major vehicles as a daily habit can carry more passengers and space. It is an effective way to alleviate collisions and traffic jams.

Nevertheless, private cars or automatics contribute most to the rising amount of carbon dioxide and other contaminated emissions into the air. Unless people use public transportation, they can suffer from health problems such as heart attacks, and hard breathing. Alternatively, if people choose metros or buses to travel, they consequently put a cap on harmful emissions as there will be a great reduction in the number of vehicles flowing on the roads. For example, Sun has changed its color to purple which is alarming for people to use public transport.

In conclusion, funding in public systems is a key factor contributing to the reduction in car users and harmful smoke emitted.