Rising University fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chance of employment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Students spend a great deal of time and money on tertiary study, therefore, vocational subjects would be a better investment in terms of immediate job opportunities. However, not everyone has a aptitude for science, engineering or medicine, and there is a need for graduates with ability gain from arts courses.

In subject such as philosophy, students learn a valuable set of skills. They become active thinkers who learn how to solve problem, not passive learners who memories facts and other people's Ideas. Philosophy students become proficient at critical and moral thinking, argumentation and debate. The ability to check and analyse topical issues or challenge the things as they are is very important. After all, someone needs to question the result or indeed the usefulness of scientific research, the politician's assertions, and historical event and assumptions is general. what is more, scandals in business and government emphasize the need for ethics in corporate and public domain.

The science and business are clearly very important for our community, and those who have a talent should, of course, pursue a university degree and a career in in those fields. If, however, they also have training in logic and analytical thinking or a board general knowledge from studying are subjects, they are more likely to be able to solve problems, create initiatives, find bias and avoid major pitfalls as they progress through their careers.

In short, I wholeheartedly disagree with the statement that are subject should not be tough. I suggest that every student should have instruction in philosophy, history or other arts subject, even if they pick to major in the science s, because learning critical thinking skills, and developing a wide background knowledge, will benefit them enormously in later life. In addition to this general training, we need specialist graduates in arts subjects to make their contribution to well-rounded society.