Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world.

Why is this?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Solar power as a source of domestic household energy is becoming more desirable because many individuals and government are concerned that burning fossil fuels and carbon to the atmosphere and thus accelerates global warming and climate change. Others feel that nuclear power is potentially unsafe, and do not like its associated pollution from radioactive waste. Therefore, many researchers and consumers have a look at alternative source of energy and have found that solar power has many benefits and few drawbacks.

The main advantage of solar energy is that after the initial installation, it is entirely free and renewable, and there are no extra cost involved in producing the energy. Solar energy is silent and environmentally friendly as well it does not destroy or poison the ecosystem. This is because the raw material, sunshine does not need to be extracted or refined, so there are no pollutants for toxic residue produced.

Another major advantage is that it is produced where it is needed so there is no energy wasted on and maintenance of the new technology for solar panels, which are consequently becoming less expensive, more available and much more efficient.

The greatest drawback of solar power is that it is totally reliant on sunlight, which is not always constant. In fact, there are some regions where it may not be practicable, as it does not work at night. Power from daytime sunshine must be stored in large batteries. In addition, the panels tend to be big and cumbersome. A major drawback for some is that the initial purchase and installation of the equipment is costly.

In my view, the benefits of a clean, quite, renewable, eco-friendly source of energy far outweigh the drawbacks, provided that there is sufficient sunlight available to make this source of power feasible