people sleep less than they used to in the past.

what do you think is the reason behind this?

what are the effects on them?

People sleep fewer hours then they did many years ago. This is because people tend to work for longer hours compared to the past and this results in fatigue.

On the one hand, people tend to sleep compared to the past because they are expected to work more. This is because the job market is more competitive than ever before and workers have to get more done or they may fall behind or be replaced by someone else. This means that people have to get up early and do not returned home until late in the evening thus cutting into their sleep. Furthermore, they do not have time to relax and this disrupts their sleep pattern. For example, recent study showed that the average employee work 2.4 hours more than average workers in the 1970s.

On the other hand, the primary effect of this widespread chronic fatigue. That is to say large section of the population do not the required 8 hours and the result in high percentage of them being too tried to lives effectively. This could mean that they Underperform at work, are more irritable with those around them or could even have health problems. For example, the golden state warriors basketball team employed a sleep expert and the studied players who sleep for more than 9 hours a night and compared then with those that only got 6. Those that slept less had injuries and actually performed worse on the court.

In conclusion, people are more sleep deprived than in earlier generations due to longer working hours in the effect is that many are chronically tired to the point of exhaustion.