School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Some people contend that due to computer use in classrooms basic study skills ‘’reading and writing” would be affected. Therefore computer use in classrooms should be avoided. However, others dissent from this contention.

Admittedly, through computers students learn with pleasure and with an attitude of being in control. This is so because they do not feel intimidated and under pressure as when a teacher is in control. Therefore they tend to devote all their attention and might go an extra mile to learn further of what they learn. This is positive for learning as it promotes creativity.

In spite of the above argument, we cannot deny that a computer is programmed to an error free work. Microsoft word exemplifies this precisely. In Microsoft word the computer does the writing legibly. This however deters a student from improving their writing skills. Moreover, it automatically corrects grammatical errors. This elucidates that students ` grammatical accuracy is bound not to be developed. Hence negatively affects reading skills.

In addition, computers limits students from extensively performing researches. Because students simply resorts to the internet for materials. Websites in particular provides a handful resources. Therefore students need not to look further to acquire knowledge. Sites such as Wikipedia acts as a source of books. Owing to this, books are less likely to be used hence laziness is promoted.

In conclusion, it is clear that computers gives students an avenue of pleasure and confidence while learning. But I assert that computer use in classrooms have a negative impact on writing and reading skills. Therefore it should not be allowed in classrooms.