Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the Internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that schools are no longer crucial as offspring are able to learn through the huge amount of information on the internet, they can also learn by themself at home. From my perspective, while learning through the Internet can be advantageous, the benefits of studying at school should be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, there are several merits of gaining plenty of information through the internet, the most significant of which are gathering updated information and preparing assignments. With regard to the former, children can collect a thousand websites that will appear on a single topic and enlarge the topic. For example, DOGO News is a web for kids can research any kind of topic they want, besides that this is an appropriate age site for children. In terms of the latter, there are various reliable sources of studying that children can access. For instance, Duolingo is a useful application where children can do homework and prepare assignments very quickly.

On the other hand, learning at school would be beneficial for reasons, linked to having been guided and enhancing communication skills. When it comes to the first idea, not everything online is carefully filtered and corrected. For example, many online newspapers are falsely written but without adults guiding, the immature brains of young children would be unaware of wrong information. As far as the second point is concerned, communication skill plays a pivotal role in children’s future. Therefore, if children only know how to socialize through Internet-based applications such as Skype or Messenger at home, they would slowly begin to isolate themselves from reality.

In conclusion, I am inclined to believe that despite the positive effects that searching for information on the Internet, the advantages of studying at home as well as school should not be underestimated.