Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies.

Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial issue whether researches in science area should be controlled by government rather than other sectors. I partly agree with this idea, however there are some definite issues to consider which will be further discussed in this essay.

Several arguments in favor of putting the scientific researches under the government’s control can be identified, First and foremost, some of these researches’ contents might be harmful to our human kind. There are many concerns associated with scientific researches, such as a human’s right, environmental impacts, and safety in people’s living. For instance, genetic engineering research in human’s body to develop a perfect gene or protect some inherit diseases is related to the topic of unnatural and human’s right. Another point is that monopoly might spring up in the market from the development of some scientific researches. Since there is a chance that the firm who innovates the products and ideas that could be a solution for country’s development registers their products for patent limiting only themselves to develop this product in further, others can not use this knowledge in their products. A further effect of this would be the country’s economic progress could slower than it should be.

On the other hand, limitation of development in scientific research in private sectors could lead to various negative effects. First, the accessibility to these researches and the right to explore any interesting topics could be a foundation for development in any fields. Seeing that if there is no prohibition in research in any scientific areas, there will be more development from an individual level resulting in the nation’s development. What is more, it is a basic right of company to implement in what they are interested as long as it complies to the law. If the researches in science are under control, it could be an obstacle to have new findings for their product’s development.

In conclusion, the world rapid change in this recent years has been driven from the advancement in knowledge from people’s found. Thus, in my opinion, I support the ideas of a freedom in study and research in anything which could be used in development in some ways.