Scientist and Tourist travel to remote natural environments, such as South Pole. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Majority of areas in our planet are explored by people for the sake of science and money. And in recent years, there has been a controversial debate on whether or not people should access those vulnerable regions. In my opinion, to a large extend, believe that it is not beneficial for people to discover susceptible lands.

To begin with, the most important argument is that frequently human activities may pose a threat to a range of species. For example, scientists set up sonar systems in the South Pole and generate the amount of noise which can be heard by marine animals that may affect their behavior patterns, and in particular for migratory fishes.

In addition, it is very difficult to manage tourists’ curiosity which may give rise to irreversible loss. For instance, giving inappropriate foods to mammals which could result in disease, using flashes while they take photos that the instantaneous bright light will stimulus wild life’s eyes and irrigate them. Another point can be made is there are some tourists may go to the remote environment with alien species and bacteria which can be fatally to the native lives. According to the history we can find a number of ecosystem imbalance cases. Such as the wild rabbits intrude Australia and causes local wild herbivore was nearly extinction.

Admittedly, it may be true that conducted researches of the unknown areas has created a lot of benefits not only for individuals but for society as a whole. In other world, studying new knowledge helps us to gain an insight of our earth. Thus we can cope up with global climate changes and make the economic suffering and life loss in control.

Having considered the arguments on both sides of the debate, despite of some advantages that discover far-off lands can brings, I still believe that it is better to limit people to enter those places in order to protect the ecosystem.