Some people argue that too much attention and too many resources are given to the protection of wild animals and birds. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The habitat conditions of wildlife, particularly those endangered species have been significantly improved due to relentless efforts from animal protectionists. However, some people do not think it is wise to allocate too many resources to wildlife conservation.

It is easy to understand why people object to investing too much on animals. One the one hand, it is true that wild animals and birds of rare species are well protected in some developed countries where large natural preserves are well built and maintained. Tourists are more civilized and they show respect to the habitats of wild animals when visiting wetlands. Laws have been established to ban cruel abuse or murdering of animals and children learn to identify and rescue wild species from textbooks. On the other hand, there are still people starving and being deprived of basic sanitary conditions around the world. According to a recent report in US, among five children one goes to school without lunch every day and the country's free lunch plan for poverty-stricken children is in badly need of financial support. For many people, It is justified that people's wellbeing should be taken into consideration before animals are taken good care of.

However, it is not always the same case all around the world and wild animals are still being hunted and slaughtered inhumanely in many places. Although there are laws that forbid poaching rare animals for human consumption, endangered animals are still seen on dining table as gourmet dishes. Besides, as people's preference for leather products as fashion continues, each year hundreds of thousands of tigers and seals are shot to death and illegal profits are gained from fur trades. To some extent, as long as individual needs for products made from animals exist, brutal killing will not disappear and those animals will be at a risk. What is worse, wildlife habit is rapidly disappearing due to development and other human-caused changes. Considering all these factors, it is hard to say that too much has been done to protect wild animals.

In conclusion, I think preserving wild animals is necessary and calls for efforts from both governments and individual citizens. While progress has been made during the past decades to provide livable habitats for those endangered species, there is still a long way to go before we can live harmony with our wild neighbors.