Scientists and the news media are presenting ever more evidence of climate change. Governments cannot be expected to solve this problem. It is the responsibility of individuals to change their lifestyle to prevent further damage.What are your views? Give

Climate change has already been a major concern of human beings across the globe. Many people think that it is not the authority but individuals should be held accountable for coming up with solutions to alliviate the problem. In my opinion, governments ought to be in partnership with each citizen to tackle this issue.

When it comes to causes of climate change, perhaps the main factor resulting in this phenomenon is people’s awareness. Their activities, namely burning fossil fuels, cutting down rainforests and using pesticides have led to the serious environmental degradation. This has caused a great deal of damage to human beings themselves. Disasters, for example, are happening more frequently than ever before, bringing about massive loss.

To cope with climate change, each person needs to take urgent measures. First and foremost, they should reduce the consumption of non-biodegradable products as much as possible such as using fewer plastic bags and recycling things. Research have shown that plastic packaging takes up to 1,000 years to decompose; therefore, could have a detrimental effect on the environment. For that reason, recycling is an effective method of waste minimisation. Another solution to this problem is that people's commuting to work by public transport instead of private vehicles. It is a common knowledge that CO2 emissions from transportation nowadays have been associated with the air pollution; thus, not only does traveling by a bus save the environment but it also helps to reduce traffic accidents and congestion in rush hours.

Besides citizens'effort, governments had better introduce some coherent policies to involve people in the scheme of preventing the climate change. They possibly enact laws against things injurious to surroundings. By way of illustration, there should be a ban on smoking in public. Stricter punishments like higher fine can be imposed on those who do not comply with the rule. What is more, human beings can also be encouraged to contribute something positive to the society. Organizations as well as campaigns are likely to be launched to persuade them to participate in. Serria Club , for instance, established in 1892, has now become one of the most notable environmental organizations with over 1.3 millions members.

In conclusion, both governments and individuals should make every effort to mitigate the climate change so that they could fully enjoy their life.