Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Apparently,international sport competitions have become part and parcel in the present days. it is supposed to play an important role in boosting the relationship and mitigating conflicts among nations. From my point of view, I partly agree with this opinion.

On one hand,sport events held worldwide can help people to have a profound understanding of one another. In games like Football World cup or Olympics, there are a large number of competitors and teams who come from many different places and communities. During those contests, they will have chance to integrate into a multicultural environment which enables them to broaden their horizons regardless of religion. What is more, competitive games give both participants and supporters equal opportunities to expand

their circle of friends. For example, when players get involved in a certain kind of sport like badminton or tennis, they will have to compete with their opponents to win first prize. After the game, irrespective of the results, they may talk to each other and become good friends.

On the other hand, it does not rule out the responsibility that sporting occasions could give rise to diplomatic rows among countries. In some cases, competitors lose their head and their patriotic emotions possibly explode in an aggressive way, which does not make a good impression on fellow human beings. another negative side of popular events could be quarrels or even fights of supporters. when they think it terribly unfair for their teams to lose the game, riots may erupt and eventually have an adverse effect on the image of their countries.

In conclusion, although international sporting events have some certain disadvantages like somehow making relationships among nations worse, they will remain to be an embedded part of all time if people have proper attitudes towards others in public.