Scientists believe computers will become more intelligent than human beings. Some people think this development will have positive impacts. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of technology advancement, humans are radically falling behind when compared with computers in terms of intelligence. Some assert that such a development will greatly benefit people in the future. In my opinion, while the advance of artificial intelligence definitely has positive impacts on humans, several demerits should be taken into consideration.

To begin with, there will be huge benefits at the time computers get smarter than human beings. Scientists have proved that humans have a tendency to let emotion involve in making critical decisions. Therefore, having a superior intelligence to select the correct choices based on mathematics calculation is vastly precise and favorable. Furthermore, being clever also means that computers are much quicker in processing information and finishing tasks, which helps to minimize the time of any humans’ projects. For example, stockholders around the world can now invest in the companies selected by computers with full reliability.

However, if humans’ brains are actually inferior to computers in the future, there will be consequences which impact on people negatively. Firstly, there is a risk that humans will be no longer in control of machines when artificial intelligence becomes incredibly realistic. Instead, people will be controlled by computers in reverse. This seems to only happen in fiction movies, but it may turn into reality if the human race continues to be overconfident and lacks cautions of any possibilities. Secondly, a large proportion of population will face the problem of occupations. Since manufacturers can reduce the cost of producing with the help of future machines, workers will not be able to compete in the job market. Consequently, there will be a massive number of jobless people which is a major problem for governments.

In conclusion, I believe that the development of computers could have both positive and negative impacts on human race in the future.