Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that education and training should be prioritized when dealing with offenders instead of providing a long-lasting prison punishment. This essay completely agrees with this view for several reasons.

To begin with, the main reason that education is an ideal way to treat with offenders is that the majority of crime in recent decades have commonly been conducted by those who are reckless and low-educated. This is from the deficiency of schooling lessons as well as basic moralities, which could be acquired from parents or teachers. However, by educating offenders, they will be able to gain a practical understanding of crimes and the detrimental consequences that illegal activities offer. This is illustrated by the fact that developed countries such as the United States or the United Kingdom have been responsible for the implementation of educating offenders in recent years, which has a positive impact on reducing criminal commitments in society.

Furthermore, alongside education, training is also important when treating offenders. The reason for this is to develop and hone practical skills, which are essential in daily lives or even to earn a stable job. For instance, by acquiring cooking skills, offenders would be able to not only develop a new skill but also to become a chef assistant in restaurants after no longer being kept in prison. In the long run, they could heighten their living standard and completely forget their regretful time.

In conclusion, although prison punishment is a traditional way to penalize offenders, I believe reasons mentioned above can prove that education and training have a far greater effect.