Society is based on rules and laws It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do To what extent do you agree or disagree

The rules are the fundamental bedrocks upon which society is shaped, and they serve the purpose to ensure people, as part of that society, avoid willingly harming others. This essay agrees with this statement that the law is the key for a community to function properly.

As societies began to shape and people started to gather in larger groups and eventually building cities, there was a certain type of people, known today as outlaws, which did enjoy breaking the basic norms and traditions. To deal with them, there has to be rules and punishment to discourage them from doing so. And at some point, written rules and laws were introduced into society to handle these people. I completely agree with this idea that the functionality of society is dependant upon its rules. If there were not any laws to punish such law-breakers, such as rubbers, people would find it easier to take each other money instead of working for it. And those who enjoy raping or destroying would raise public fear and distrust, which finally could destroy a society altogether.

Furthermore, laws are essential to ensure that people are treated fairly, even those who break them. Justice systems are then the tool to do so. These systems are equipped with judges, prosecutors, and police. And these three, in turn, ensure the safety of society first, then pursue those who put other’s safety in danger and finally treat them based on the crime’s scale. A small rubbery’s punishment must significantly differ from a gunned one. A youngster with a petty crime should admittedly be treated differently from a mature one. As the justice system, using its tools, function properly, people would feel safer, leading to more trust and happiness amongst people, all of which contribute to a sounder society.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that society is a table and its legs are the laws and rules. It can only stand firm if its legs are strong well-built.