Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Renewable energy sources are attracting the attention in past few decades. Solar energy is one of such source which actually came into the use of common people greatly.

Traditional energy sources such as a fossil fuels have become unreliable because of the limited source and also the pollution that they generate. The environmentalists had been pointing out this issue for many years, but, recently, the danger of excess use of fossil fuels was realized by the governments in different countries and they began to educate people. The awareness created in the common people is the main reason of the popularity of renewable energy sources such as windmill, solar energy, seismic energy, etc.

Among all the renewable energy sources, solar energy is the cheapest and easiest in implementation. Windmills or seismic power stations require a high capital and therefore, it is not possible for any lay man to implement. However, solar panels are affordable for medium class to upper class families and the device is not very complicated. There are local entrepreneurs and start up companies who succeeded in developing solar panels in different countries. Thus solar energy became a popular household energy source in many countries.

Although solar panels are cost effective, since the source of power is sunlight, the price of maintenance is quite high. The greater challenge is associated with the batteries that we need to use. The life span of batteries that exist currently is very low.

In conclusion, solar energy have become a large source of energy for households and institutions in past years, because of its efficiency and environmental advantages. High maintenance cost and low life span of batteries are the challenges that we face now. Solutions to these problems can further increase the acceptance of solar energy among common people.