Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In a technologically developed society, with improved media platforms, advertisements do not just play the role of inferring people about a product, but also, have many other means. The nature and style of advertisements and their influence on society has to be discussed in detail.

Centuries ago, advertisements or announcements were given to people along with drum beats. The advertisements which we have now are also do the same purpose of passing information to people. The advancements in technology brought different medias into the picture. Every media from newspaper to a mobile phone carry advertisements. For instance, the competition in trade is increased so much that, we have multiple brands for every product. This competition make them to develop creative ideas and bring them to the market. The advertisements now a days, play the role of familiarising the existing products and introducing new products, which open us a way to compare and decide.

Most of the traders are interested in their business and they find advertisements as a route to improve their market. Therefore, most of the advertisements which we see now try to exaggerate the real product with tricks, which is actually equivalent to fooling the audience. This may lead to the purchase of products with lesser quality. There is another strategy which the companies often use, but, which needs to be protested, is making misbeliefs in their customers. Some advertisements make people to think that, not having the particular product is a shame. Thus, they are forced to buy things which they do not need.

Though advertisements can be source of giving information about new products, now a days, they are encouraging us to buy unnecessary things.