Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

The increasing popularity of solar energy as a source of household energy in many countries is partially due to Green protocols. People have realised that we cannot depend on non renewable energy resources for a long time. We should not be hesitant to explore the possibilities of renewable energy resources such as wind energy, solar energy, and tidal energy.

The existence of humankind has always been relied upon the consumption of energy. Man used light energy to fight darkness. He utilised mechanical energy to simplify his life. Ultimately, with the invention of electrical energy, man achieved better living and the same is developing everyday. One of the most important realisation in these days is that we must look for alternative sources to generate electricity other than from dams. Solar energy is the best available option.

Despite the initial installation cost, solar panels do not need any frequent maintenance. Our rooftops can accommodate solar panels which is enough to power an average home. Solar water heaters can also be set up so that the electricity required to run an electric heater can be saved. Portable solar lamps are being launched in the market which are easy to be charged. In case of damage, the cost of repair is very high for the solar products. The major drawback is that in some cases, repair may not be possible, the only option will be replacement.

To conclude, the use of solar energy for household purposes should be welcomed. It is eco-friendly, causing no harm to nature. At a time where non renewable energy resources are being exhausted, the promotion of solar energy is a good initiative which must be encouraged.