Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympic wastes money, which could be used for important issues.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The Olympic games are the biggest display of our inclination towards sports. It not only brings sportsmen from different parts of the world together to compete but also serves as a platform to strengthen the international relationships between countries. While some believe that these games are an excellent opportunity for people from different countries to interact, there are others who consider that the Olympic games, being very expensive are a waste of financial resources and this money shall be used for many other vital issues. In this essay, I would like to discuss the merits and demerits of these two contrasting opinions and would like to clarify my stand regarding this.

To begin with, right from the beginning of the Olympic games, more than a century ago, in Athens, the Olympic games gained popularity among individuals. I have witnessed a few Olympic events myself and I can say that indeed, there could be no better display of sportsmanship on earth than these games. These events also provide an international platform for many less popular games like water polo, synchronized swimming, curling, and many more. To host an Olympic event, the venue has to be up to the standards set by the International Olympic Committee, and in doing so, the whole city experiences a faster and targeted growth in terms of infrastructure and employment. Also, during the long Olympic events, there is a considerable financial opportunity for the host city and country.

On the other hand, arranging state-of-the-art infrastructure, hosting hundreds of nations and their thousands of athletes, and setting up numerous game venues, cost a huge amount of money. There are people who believe that in place of hosting an Olympic event by redirecting the major chunk of financial resources towards it, the governments shall focus on developing basic needs like education, health, and defense.

To conclude, I would like to say that although these ace sporting events are very expensive to conduct and this money could be useful in developing other vital amenities, Olympics indeed helps in the development of these infrastructures in a long run and it creates a lot of local employment opportunities. Besides all this, these events are a feast for the eyes, a delight to watch, and inspiring for a sportsman to be a part of it. Hence it must be conducted in its full glory and excitement.