Some believe that people will purchase a product based on their needs and advertising is not needed.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The influence of advertisement in the purchase of goods is depicted by some as inconsequential. Instead, consumers make shopping decisions solely in relation to their desires. In my view, this opinion is true to a certain extent.

Ads serve no real purpose in motivating purchases of a number of products. Among them are necessity goods, which people buy for their everyday purposes. Products like sugar, salt and spices, for instance, are bought on a regular basis without being featured in any TV commercial or campaigns. Furthermore, once buyers have been assured by the quality of their purchases, they may continue spending money on the products, even in the absence of ads to reinforce the presence of such goods. This ad-free relationship between buyers and suppliers is witnessed mainly in a various small-scale businesses, ranging from selling food, stationary to even clothes.

However, it is foolish to completely disregard the role of advertising in stimulating buyers’ interest. To begin with, advertising, in its various forms, inform consumers of the presence of a particular product or service, before further instilling its name in public perception. It is due to this effect that both start-ups and established companies invest in marketing campaigns when launching new projects. What is more, ads serve as a stimulator, making even the unnecessary goods an important part of someone’s life. This is best illustrated through the campaigns for energy drinks as their themes of fun and excitement solidify the products’ relevance in our lives, despite not being crucial for our survival needs.

In conclusion, while advertising may not be needed for the purchase of essential goods and products with a loyal customer base, it is needed for the penetration and habitualized purchase of new ones.