Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the development of advanced technology, people have had a higher standard of living, but youngsters tend to spend a lot of time using electronic devices, especially smartphones. Several reasons explain this tendency, and I believe that it triggers many adverse effects on their well-being and study.

There are various reasons why it takes children hours to use smartphones. It relates to the development of high technology, which helps children with studying and entertainment. Firstly, smartphones can be an assistant tool for learning; for instance, they can search for information and documents, take notes directly on applications such as Word, and they also can learn online through devices. As a result, they consume various time on mobile phones. Moreover, smartphones contain various entertaining programs which is a great way of relaxing and relieving stress after working or studying. The time using smartphones escalates unstoppable without control.

It seems to me that the excessive use of smartphones exerts many adverse influences on youngsters. First and foremost, kids may suffer from the risk of heart disease and high obesity created by a sedentary lifestyle and lack of physical and mental activities when they spend much time in front of the smartphone's screen. Nevertheless, children are easily influenced by toxic activity and brainwashed by misconceptions when using smartphones, especially accessing social media. The time using smartphones escalates unstoppable without parental control.

In conclusion, many factors, including a new emphasis on online learning, the dominance of online interactions, and the lack of parental surveillance, increase the time youngsters use smartphones. I view the trend as deleterious to physical health and study at school for children.