Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some cities vehicle-free days’ activity has started to signify and encourage the people not to use the private cars, truck and motorcycles in the city center which make them realize the significant difference due to the less usage of private cars, trucks and motorcycles. People are encouraged as an alternative of using public transportation to travel from one place to another.

As nowadays continuous research is going on that how to provide the pollution free environment to the human beings. According to the researchers, they have observed that vehicle pollution is one of the reason to give preference to the public transport during their root cause analysis. As far as benefits of public transportation are concerned, we may notice that huge number of vehicles cause of excessive harmful gases in the air which are exhausted with smoke. These toxic gases contain harmful CO and NO which make our respiratory system weaker gradually may cause of dangerous diseases in future. Furthermore, another advantage of using public is to reduce congestion on the road. People have to face lot of problem due to the heavy traffic on the road which take long time to stuck-up in the traffic. One of the major benefit is also to reduce the no of accidents as well. Due to the huge no of traffic on the roads also cause increase the risk factor for accidents.

As an alternative of private vehicle, people are encouraged to use the public transportation which will make it easy for people to move around to fulfill their daily routine tasks. As public transport makes it convenient for people to travel easily but on the other hand people have also to face the difficulties due to the public transport like to wait in the queue for the buses and metros. Buses are overcrowded during the peak hours and sometime do not find the seat to sit even for long distance traveling. Besides extensive traveling, some people are old age which is hard for them to stand in the bus due to the limited no of seats for disable persons.

To sum up, comparing the both merits and demerits of vehicle-free days, we may observe that using public transport has less disadvantages comparatively. Activities like vehicle-free days motivate the people to think for the alternative to reduce the unnecessary traffic on the road to make the environment free of harmful gases and also emphasize the Government to realize to arrange the affordable best alternatives for public to travel easily and to provide the maximum facilities for them to make their life easy like by increasing the no of buses and to increase the no of routes for buses ,metros and finally by initiating the cost effective taxis for passengers.