In some cities, there are few controls over the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, so people can build in whatever style they like. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Several locations limited their citizens from designing their own houses and received negative reactions. In fact, many believe they should have complete control over their homes. In my point of view, I think this restriction is somewhat more beneficial.

On the one hand, allowing individuals to create their owns buildings brings satisfaction and freedom. In a psychological facet, most people enjoy doing things on their own without external interruptions. No citizen wants to see their properties designed and conditioned with another man’s idea. A recent survey occurred in Hanoi stated that 91% of their locals disagreed to build their house similarly or followed the same blueprint. Moreover, constructing self-designed buildings promotes distinction. A location occupied with creative houses vary from sizes and styles replaces the boring and plain appearance with an independent look.

However, the government’s restriction provides a uniform and unique view. Even though these houses might not be beautiful standing alone but they became a gorgeous landscape integrating together. Additionally, some cities have an old-fashioned, vintage look with the settings of their houses. For example, Hoi An in Vietnam is famous for its classic housing styles, which have been maintained since the Second World War. These antique apartments are substantial tourist attractions and historical locations. Without the prohibition of the authority, this vivid land will soon be replaced by modern construction, losing their long-lasting beauty and the town’s source of income from international visitors.

In conclusion, there are both merits and demerits to imposing restrictions on local housing and the office’s design. However, I believe this method is more advantageous for the view of the city.