Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that sport is such a lucrative industry that it has attracted huge investment from corporations who want to promote their image. While there are those who maintain that this is beneficial, I believe that there are far more drawbacks.

It is widely perceived that corporate sponsorship in sporting events and professional sportsmen reaps the benefit. With private patronage, athletes can have better access to more advanced training conditions and improved nutrients. This would not only ensure their development to the fullest but also enhance their chance of success. Once the sports stars or teams win in a championship, the funders will gain reputation. Even if the sponsored sporting players or teams do not win, the companies’ brand name will still be advertised as it is printed on either athletes’ outfits or on logos displayed around the playground. It should also be noted that with short career span, coupled with intensive training and great dedication, professional sportsmen deserve to be funded.

The downsides of making investment in sports and athletes, however, are indisputable. One danger this represents would be the strain facing players, forcing them to win at any costs. This means that they can cheat during the match, or even cause injuries to members of the rival team to defeat them. For this reason, sport would become more commercialized, resulting in the loss of its true value. What is more, when too much emphasis is placed into sports, other key sectors such as education and medicine might be marginalized. In fact, these fields are significant for the growth of a nation, but they might not bring instant economic returns for the financiers. In the long run, the funding imbalance between different areas of interest could pose a threat to overall development of a country.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that the financial support of corporations has both merits and demerits. However, the positives are overshadowed by the negatives.