Some companies sponsor sport as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantagesDiscuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays many businesses are choosing to sponsor popular sports with the intention of accelerating their sales turnover. They invest money to support star players or teams, tournaments or to develop infrastructure of sports. In turn to this investment they get opportunities such as, print the company logo on jerseys of players, telecast commercial advertisements during matches if the game is lively broadcasting, display company products on site the game or receive an acknowledgement at the event program. However, people have divided on their opinion regarding sponsoring sports and some people argue that it has mutual benefits to both groups while, others point out that it can damage the spirit of the sports. This essay aims to discuss both views and come to a conclusion.

To start with, by sponsoring sports many companies get numerous advantages such as, access to wider number of people to promote their products or services, stand out from other competitors and improve the company or brand image. For an example, the Coca Cola Company, who the official beverage of last Olympic game had been able to promote their product into almost three fourth of global population and had recorded a growing of sales for two consecutive years after the game. On the other hand the Olympic committee also got a chance to give valuable prizes to Olympic players and improve the infrastructure in athletic games in developing countries by using this sponsored money. Therefore, it is very evident that both parties in agreement get advantages.

However, people who oppose this idea tell that money and sports should be kept apart as much as possible. When sport players are keen on money than sports, it can damage the quality of the game. There are so many evidences to prove that players or sport clubs are involved in scandals like match fixing to earn more money. Apart from that they also indicate that it can open the gates for undesirable companies to get into the field and promote their products. Although, cigarette companies are prohibited to sponsor sport events, it is quite common that rugby matches are sponsored by alcohol beverages.

In conclusion, sponsoring sports results immense amount of advantages to both sides. However, it has disadvantages which cannot be overlooked as well. Sport authorities and government should implement good rules and regulations to avoid such draw backs and get the maximum use of sponsored money for the sake of sports.