Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, with the advent of modern society, certain nations permit the elderly to work at any age to meet people’s daily life demands. Therefore, there has been a debate whether it is a positive thing to let the aged go to work or not. According to my mind, the benefits of this trend are far more significant than its drawbacks.

On the one hand, there is a wide range of compelling reasons to explain why the governments allow the elderly to go to work. One evident strength is that because they are persons who used to undergo rigorous training and have many hands-on experiences in their life. Thus, they are able to apply those things to their job and give the best advice for the next generation so as to have many good performances in work and generate substantial revenue to their company or society. Another underlying reason is that they will be likely to alleviate the financial burden for their family when they get older. They can both live up to the fullest of their lives and pay other necessary expenses without being contingent upon their family such as accommodation or healthcare service. In fact, They can comfortably enjoy and live the life they want when they are retired.

On the other hand, the aforementioned advantages are also at the expense of greater disadvantages. First of all, when people are old, they are fairly weak and easily contract some serious diseases such as cardiovascular diseases, so they also can not guarantee stable working hours. As a result, this leads to a decline in the quality of the work. For instance, people who are over 60 years old, do not have enough strength to work eight hours a day. It takes them a large amount of time to finish works on time. Consequently, this will be likely to cause some troubles for the enterprises when collaborating with others. Furthermore, it also puts enormous pressure on the shoulder of the owner of companies when they have to spend money to have a better healthcare system for the old working in their enterprises.

In conclusion, there are minus points to let the elderly people work to any age. With that being said, it seems to me that its advantages would surpass its disadvantages in this trend.