In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness is decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Ironically, as the modern medicine is making more and more progress, the average weight of people is increasing while unhealthy habits and lack of fitness in rampant. Furthermore, the wealthier countries with better healthcare seems to be worst affected. This essay will discuss the causes of this problem as well as provide some viable solutions.

The reasons for this health epidemic are many, but firstly we shall discuss unhealthy food. In modern day, the unhealthy food options are sadly cheaper, while healthy organic and fresh produce cost a lot. Because a majority of working class citizens cannot afford to eat healthy, we see a rise in people’s weight and decreased level of fitness. Secondly, sedentary lifestyle has made this situation worse, as all the new technology has hampered our physical activities. Just a few years ago, if somebody wished to see a movie, there was no other way but to go to a cinema. Today we can shop, order food and even do work from our bedrooms, which contributes to this already worsening health epidemic. A study by Harvard School of Medicine showed that sitting in a closed room for more than 8 hours was equivalent of smoking a pack of cigarettes a day. Therefore, cheap unhealthy food and sedentary life style have made people overweight and unfit.

As far as the measure to curb this menace are concerned, they are not too difficult. Firstly, ensuring the availability of healthy food products at a reasonable price would encourage people to eat healthy. This is the reason people enjoy much better quality of life in places that have abundance of fresh fruit, vegetables and farm raised meat products. Secondly, although food is important, regular exercise is still the key to achieve a good level of fitness and healthiness. A recent research by an English university revealed that people who ate healthy and worked out were less likely to get Alzheimer’s or other diseases in their old age. Hence, eating healthy and working out regularly is key to solving this issue.

In conclusion, I believe that bad habits and lack of exercise causes people to become over weight, while good food and regular workout is the solution for this.