Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The topic of public transport has been a hot topic since the invention of engine. Politicians, statesmen and billionaires all have their own opinions. One of the most important method of public transport is railways.

Railways are one of the best ways to get around in urban areas were road congestion is a nightmare. It's usually faster than cars as trains move without any hindrance. They are also very environmentally friendly as most trains are electric these days. They also have the benefit of being quieter and calmer than most cars. If we look at the financials, the railways take the lead here too for being more economical.There is also no hassle of finding and paying for parking. For all these reasons I believe it's very important for the government to pay more heed to railways infrastructure and provide more funding. It will not only improve daily commutes for people but also have a long-term effect of improving the economy and standards of living as is evident by a lot of research.

Most things in life has both pros and cons. The railways is no exception. The most major drawback is the issue of timing. You have to schedule your whole day around the times of arrivals and departures of trains. If you over sleep or if you face and emergency, the railways is not a reliable option. Another drawback for some might be the long commutes with multiple connections. If a trains is late, this can throw your whole schedule off. So I believe it's reasonable to ask government to spend more money on roads. This will give people more flexibility and mobility.