In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.To what extend do you agree or disagree wi

Food and health play a big role in people`s life. It is not possible to be healthy without watching the quality and controlling the quantity of the food we are consuming. Unfortunately, fast food options have become more convenient for most people due to their busy lifestyle. I believe that the government should apply a higher tax rate on fast food to discourage people from buying it and replace it with healthier options.

Nowadays, people are more conscious about their diets, workout and their daily routine. Everyone is trying to eat healthy as much as possible but it is harder due to their busy life and the expensive of freshly produced meals. People tend to choose fast food. For example, in Australia to eat a healthy fresh and organic breakfast will coast about $20 compared to big becan and eggs sandwich from a fast food restaurant will cost $5 or less. In this case people with low incomes will prefer to grab their meal from fast food places especially if they have big families to feed. Furthermore Fast food places are available in every suburb which makes it easier to get and quicker to eat.

However, if the government imposes a higher tax rate on fast food, this might reduce the number of people consuming it, which in turn will reduce the number of people who are suffering from health problems. In addition, the government will spend less money on health care services for people with diet-related health issues. Such as diabetes and obesity.

In the finale analysis, I believe that adopting a healthy lifestyle should come from the person it`s self, but it will be easier with the government help. By imposing a high tax for fast food and less tax rate on freshly produced food. This will encourage people to be healthier and also will increase benefits from the agriculture industry in the country.