In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

These days, whether a higher tax on fast food could reduce the diet-related health problems have sparked a heated debate. Although such issue is contested by many, it is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, but I am of the opinion that the former outdo the latter.

There are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance, but the most conspicuous one is that a higher tariff on fast food will raise junk food prices, thus reducing the number of sales. Particularly, the main reasons fast food is consumed by most people are it is cheap, fast and convenient. However, if the price of fast food is higher, customer willingness to pay will be lower. This is because nowadays, there are many healthy foods are on supermarket offering reasonable price and easy way to cook. Obviously, between two items with similar price and same level of convenience, the customers will choose the healthy items.

Another pivotal aspect of this issue is that citizen health has a close relationship with the development of a country. Research shows that due to a high level of fat, sugar and sodium in fast food, high fast food consumption leads to the higher health risks such as diabetes, high cholesterol, and high blood pressure. These illnesses can adversely impact on people productivity, thus affecting the economy of a country. Moreover, studies also show that health care system in Australia and America spends most of their budget on diet-related health problems. Thus, the tax from fast food might be used to cover for the health system.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of introducing tariff on fast foods are too great to ignore. Fast food tax can reduce the number of fast food sales and improve the development of a country through lowering the diet-related health problems and increasing the fund for the health care system.