In some countries it has been observed that many parents choose to teach their children at home rather than sending them to school. Do the advantages of children studying at home outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, with the development of internet, people have more access to educational resources. As a result, some people chose to educate their children at home rather than send them to school. From my perspective, such approach exerts more positive impact on children .

The most distinct merit is that education at home can keep children from bullying, and offer them a better and safer learning environment. According to a survey, 77% of students are bullied mentally, verbally, and physically. 8% of students miss 1 day of class per month for fear of bullies. From these statistics, we can clearly see the harm which school bullying causes to children‘s academy and health. On the contrary, study at home can minimize the occurrence of school bullying, so they can focus more on their study.

Another merit is study at home can offers students conveniences and flexibility,especially for gifted students. self -paced education allow them to study courses ahead of their level and they can finish compulsory education much earlier rather than being restricted by school education.

But we can’t deny that education at home still has some demerits. Since children’s parents are usually not professional teachers, so they may fail to give children comprehensive coverage of knowledge. Apart from that, children have less opportunities to communicate with others and this may cause social disorder. But these demerits pale in comparison to the merits.

In conclusion, even though family education is not conducive to children's integration into society, i still believe education at home can keep children from school bullying and can satisfy the needs and capabilities of talented students. And in this fast-pasted, hi-tech dominated society, family education can conform the trend of social development.