In some countries it has been observed that many parents choose to teach their children at home rather than sending them to school. Do the advantages of children studying at home outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, there is an increase in the number of homeschooled children. People have different opinions whether this new trend is more efficient than traditional mode of acquiring knowledge for children. I strongly believe that current education system has more benefits for a young person.

First of all, it is worth considering to teach children at home. Firstly, supporters of this method state that it ensures the safe and friendly environment for students. Therefore, they can excel academically because there is unnecessary for them worry about bullying or peer pressure. Moreover, another argument for homeschooling is that that child can learn at their own pace. This adds as well as the reason for better academic results.

On the other hand, it also has several serious drawbacks. It must be remembered that the place where an individual makes first friends, is school. Thus, learning at home could have a negative effect on one’s social skills which can be the disadvantage in the future for finding a good job, due to many employers require proper social skills, and personal life, as after adolescence it is hard to develop social skills to make friends. Furthermore, by being in public schools individuals learn how to deal with problems, such as meeting deadlines or coping with stress, what cannot be learned at home, due to favorable situation in there.

Taking everything into consideration, it is impossible to argue that homeschooling has more benefits than public schools. Despite the fact that homeschool students have a higher probability to get better results, the cost of it lost of other useful skills.