In some countries it is illegal for employers to reject applicants due to his/her age.

Positive or negative development?

give your own opinion.

Some governments enforce laws against age discrimination in the hiring decisions. In my opinion, This regulation is a very positive development for the employees, the employers, the society, and the country.

First of all, it can be guaranteed that the hiring the right person for the right position. Not only old people but also young people face bias against their age when they apply for the job. Young people are generally not considered for the leadership position even though they have excellent technical skills and personal skills because of the stereotype that young people can not lead. On the other hand, old people are generally rejected due to the perception of their low energy, health issues, and retirement problems. When ageism is controlled by laws, it guarantees that the hiring of the right person based on his or her skills.

Another benefit is that it supports women workforce. Women who aged especially in their late 20's and around 30 are considered that they may become pregnant soon also they are a burden and unreliable. Because of that, they have disadvantages comparing to male peers for the same future position. The government encourages those women via laws.

Finally, recruitment based on individual's skills create fairness and increase productivity in a work environment which results in economic advancement in the country. If age discrimination is prevalent in a state, seniors would have difficulties to find a job, and it causes a financial strain on younger workers. Furthermore, inequality in employment is associated with lower job satisfaction, engagement, performance and mental health, as well as higher turnover in a company. Therefore employees will increase the stability, creativity, and growth opportunity for the company and government in longterm when ageism is prevented by government.

In conclusion, having legislation against ageism while hiring is a positive development and have many significant benefits not only the company but also the employee, society, and the future of the country.