In some countries, it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight.

Different countries have different regulations on compulsory schooling ages. While some countries think that children need to commence formal education at four years old, many believe it is better to wait until they are seven or eight years old. This essay will argue why seven or eight years old is an absolutely imperative standard for children to initiate their journeys on formal education.

To begin, there are some benefits starting school at age 4. Most obviously, children will be able to graduate earlier than those who attend kindergarten later. As a result, these secondary graduates can earn money in advance. My friends who went to schools at four years old, for example, succeeded in generating their first income two years before their peers who started at age five. The earlier children begin school, the sooner their financial status will be better.

However, it is also wiser to start formal education at the age of seven or eight instead. Many people believe that children who have started studying at the age of four tend to suffer from heavy depression. Harvard researchers, for example, found that almost 95% of children who committed suicide due to depression were forced to go to schools when they turned to four. Hence, attending formal institutions at the age of seven or eight is indeed an intelligent move.

In conclusion, this essay argued that people who are against the idea of following the formal education path at the age of seven or eight have not considered the potential risk of burn out or mental depression. In my opinion, it is entirely justifiable to start school at the ages of seven or eight.