In some countries, it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at 4 years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are 7 or 8.

How far do you agree with either of these views?

In this day and age, people are concerned about whether children should start being educated at the age of four or wait until they reach the age of seven to eight. Although many people lament that their kids have to go to school in the early age, I avocate the idea that school is just suitable for the latter group.

On the one hand, there are many compelling reasons not to let children under the age of 4 have access to formal education. A scientific fact discovered regarding to stages of cognitive development is that learners at this age group are just at the preoperational stage; therefore, they do not have the ability to regconise either languages or abstract things. In this period, it is better to free them to grow up naturally, let them do what they like rather than force them to school where is not suitable.

In opposition, the next four years see a sea change in the development of cognition when children reach the concrete operational stage. In this phase, they are more logical and can use methodical manupilation of symbols. They are also less egocentric and more aware of the outside world and events; hence, it is much easier for teachers to properly guide them to obtain knowledge. In comparison to those in the earlier stage, younglings in the age of seven to eight can regconise the importance of study, so that they are able to set a serious attitude towards learning. This scientifically proves that formal education can be much more effective to be adopted for 7 years or so students.

In conclusion, as aforementioned sound reasoning, I firmly assert that school is just appropriate for the concreted operational children, not for underdeveloped young kids.